Puccinia brachypodii?

Plant diseases
__clare__
New user

Puccinia brachypodii?

Post by __clare__ » Sun May 03, 2020 7:46 pm

Hello. My first fungus identification post :)

I got some new bits for my microscope today, so have spent the day looking at what I could find: a rust on Sweet Vernal-grass (Anthoxanthum odoratum) from my garden. Had to get some help from an ecologist friend on the grass identification, but the attempted rust ID is my own! Photos hopefully attached.

I have referred to 'Dutch Rust Fungi' and this got me to Puccinia brachypodii, owing to (1) host organism; (2) thick-walled paraphyses.

The description mentions that "taxonomic interpretations of this species are manifold" - and I see the description of Puccinia poae-nemoralis on Plant Parasites of Europe (here: https://bladmineerders.nl/parasites/fun ... nemoralis/) would seem to match my observations?

But I'm pretty new to this! So would be interested to know whether I'm on the right track. And what people's thoughts are on the P. brachypodii s.l. - and how to delineate the varieties / species in this complex...?

Thanks!
Attachments
Paraphyses 2. 400x mag in water. Capitate and some bent below the head.
Paraphyses 2. 400x mag in water. Capitate and some bent below the head.
Uredinia on Anthoxanthum odoratum leaf. Scattered?
Uredinia on Anthoxanthum odoratum leaf. Scattered?
Uredospores. 400x mag in water. Verrucose.
Uredospores. 400x mag in water. Verrucose.
Paraphyses. 400x mag in water.
Paraphyses. 400x mag in water.
Uredinia on Anthoxanthum odoratum leaf, close up.
Uredinia on Anthoxanthum odoratum leaf, close up.
"searcher after curiosities"

Paul Cannon
Regular user

Re: Puccinia brachypodii?

Post by Paul Cannon » Tue May 05, 2020 10:31 am

Hello Clare
Welcome to the group - and a great first post!