Arrhenia sphagnicola

Philbo
User

Arrhenia sphagnicola

Post by Philbo » Mon Nov 09, 2015 9:52 am

Hi All,

I found this fungus growing in moss, South Lancs which I thought it looked like an Arrhenia.

I sought expert opinion and it was determined (or at least - "they look very much") Arrhenia sphagnicola.

NBN suggest's it's pretty rare here. I'm a bit of fungus novice so I'm not really sure about recording - is this the kind of thing I should inform the county recorder of?

Cheers,

Phil
p.s have other, better, close up photos
om.jpg

Leif
Frequent user

Re: Arrhenia sphagnicola

Post by Leif » Mon Nov 09, 2015 10:18 am

Hello Phil

You can check how rare it is, or more accurately, how often it has been recorded, using the FRDBI:

http://www.fieldmycology.net/FRDBI/FRDB ... BNum=42384

It is rarely recorded. The list will tell you if it is a county first in which case Kew might be interested in a specimen. I could not see a record for Lancashire, but I only searched on "Lanc". Note that it is not necessarily up to date. I can't see any harm contacting the county recorder, I am sure (s)he will answer your questions about recording.

There is also CATE (abfg.org) which is a better database in my opinion, as it is easier to use, but the data is not quite so complete.

Philbo
User

Post by Philbo » Mon Nov 09, 2015 11:16 am

Many thanks for the info,

It doesnt appear to be on either database for Lancs

Cheers,
Phil

Chris Johnson
Frequent user

Post by Chris Johnson » Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:55 pm

Philbo wrote:Many thanks for the info,

It doesnt appear to be on either database for Lancs

Cheers,
Phil
Hi Phil, do you have images of the upper surface?

One useful macro character is the dark scales as seen in this typical image.

Cheers, Chris
Arrhenia-sphagnicola-01.jpg

Philbo
User

Post by Philbo » Mon Nov 09, 2015 4:26 pm

Hi Chris,
I had initially rejected A. Sphagnicola, myself, as mine didnt seem to show the scales.